Sri Lanka Malaysia Business Council


The Sri Lanka – Malaysia Business Council was inaugurated on February 23, 1994 under the aegis of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce at the request of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Board of Investment of Sri Lanka. The main objective of this Council is to promote joint ventures in trade, tourism and services between Sri Lanka and Malaysia. In accordance with the constitution, His Excellency Wan Zaidi Wan Abdullah , High Commissioner for Malaysia in Sri Lanka is the Patron of the Council.


Promote Malaysian investments to Sri Lanka and developing trade links between the two countries. Promote friendship, goodwil l and understanding between the business organizations in Sri Lanka and in Malaysia.


Assist Sri Lankan companies and business people on establishing or contemplate the establishment of a trading base in Malaysia.Create awareness and provide relevant information about Sri Lanka to the Malaysian investors.

High Commissioner's Message

President's Message


To promote trade, tourism and services between Sri Lanka and Malaysia and in particular to promote exports from Sri Lanka to Malaysia

To encourage the establishment of joint ventures in Sri Lanka between Malaysian and Sri Lankan investors.

To serve as a recognized representative of business sector interests in Sri Lanka in matters concerning business relationships with Malaysia.

To exchange information on trade and investment with the appropriate bodies in Malaysia.

To co-operate with the Government of Sri Lanka in the pursuit of the above objects.

To undertake all matters that are incidental or conducive to attaining the above objects.

To conduct joint meetings with Malaysian Business Organizations in Sri Lanka and Malaysia.

Executive Committee 2020/21

Patron of the Council - His Excellency Tan Yang Thai, The High Commissioner for Malaysian in Sri Lanka

President - Mr Keerthi Jayasuriya, Chairman/CEO of International Scholar Educational services Pvt Ltd
Vice President - Mr. Khalid Farouk, Director, Ilham Inspiration Ltd.
Vice President - Mr. Mohamed Hameez of Spillburg Holdings Pvt Ltd
Secretariat – Ms. Ayoni Rangala,Manager,Ceylon Chamber of Commerce
Immediate Past President - Mr. Iqram Cuttilan, CEO/Managing Director, Aitken Spence Shipping Ltd

Committee Members : Amana Bank, Dialog Telekom Ltd, Hemas Air Services Pvt Ltd, Public Bank BERHAD, Mansoor Gems, World Express CMB Ltd, Zam Gems